Megaplex.co.za – Eating Out in Sandton

Home Advertise About To search this page, press Ctrl+F and type a word. Search this site or the Internet

Reviews of Restaurants in the Morningside Area

including Morningside, Morningside Manor, Wendywood and Gallo Manor (eastern Sandton, Greater Johannesburg).

If you're looking for an enjoyable place to enjoy a superb meal, you might like to consider our opinions:
To search this page for keywords, press Ctrl+F.  Please tell contacts that you found them at www.megaplex.co.za !

Furnished Student Accommodation to Let Now in Morningside Manor

Two single bedrooms, one with shared full bathroom, the other with private half bathroom. Carpeted, fully furnished and serviced. Shared kitchen, lounge, patio, and garden.  Secure parking. Close to shops and bus routes.  Call 082 389 3482, e-mail us, or click here.

Reviews by Judith Taylor except where indicated.  Editing by Rick Raubenheimer.  Reviews are listed in reverse date order (newest at the top).  For older reviews see Restaurant reviews for Rivonia and Morningside. You might also like to look at Review of Restaurants in Morningside and Restaurant Reviews for the rest of Sandton.

Newsletter: Megaplex's monthly e-newsletter brings you, the Sandton restaurant patron, a monthly review of a restaurant in Rivonia, Morningside, Morningside Manor or Gallo Manor!  We aim to bring you the best eateries, the most interesting restaurants, the liveliest shops.  If it's not good, we'll also warn you about it.  Subscribe here.  See newsletters here: All Newsletters 2009-date, January 2017, February 2017, March 2017, April 2017, May 2017, June 2017, July 2017, August 2017, September 2017, October 2017.


Reviews on This Page:
Silver Pine Spur
Pappadums and again
Pappadums yet again
Fego Caffé, Gallo Manor
The Baron, Woodmead
Piza e Vino
Pappadums again
Love Fish
Ri'stretto Al Fresco Cucina
Piza e Vino
Pappadums
Green Peppercorn again
Piza e Vino
Ocean Basket, Morningview
Salé e Pepe da Giovanni, again
Kiyota Sushi
Polpetta Ristorante
Papachino's
Pomodoro again
Raashee Indian Restaurant again
Third Opinion on Piza e Vino
Winnie's
Second Opinion on Piza e Vino
Piza e Vino
Le Bistro at Petit Cochon
Raashee Indian Restaurant
Kiyota Sushi again
Kong Tai Chinese Restaurant
Kiyota Sushi
Chez Girard
Food Lovers Market
Pomodoro
Sale e Pepe da Giovanni by Shannon
Adega, Bryanston
The Baron, Dunwoody Centre
Cucina Italiana
Vasili's again
Tsunami
Green Peppercorn
Vasili's
Silver Pine Spur


Other Restaurant Pages:
Restaurant reviews for Rivonia
Older Restaurant reviews (for Rivonia and Morningside)
Restaurants in Rivonia
Codfather Village of Restaurants

Links to Other Pages:
Home Page – Overview of Shops, Facilities, and Accommodation in Rivonia, Morningside, Morningside Manor, Gallo Manor and surroundings

Other Shopping Centres in the Morningside area:
The Wedge, Morningside
90° on Rivonia
Morning Glen, Kelvin Drive
Morning View, South Road

Shopping Centres in Rivonia:
Rivonia Junction
Mutual Mews
Early Dawn Mall
Oriental City Rivonia

Shopping Centres in Woodmead:
Woodmead Retail Park
Woodmead Value Mart
Woodmead Super Value Centre

Other Places of Interest:
Culture: Books, Movies, etc
Sandspruit Hiking Trail,
Ernest Ullmann Park Recreation Centre,
Rivonia Village Veterinary Clinic,
Montrose Nursery Garden Centre and Gia's Coffee Shop,
Manor Medical Centre,
Morningside Country Club,
Rooms To Let in Morningside




Advertise in our Monthly e-Newsletter from only R190/month!

Around 6000 subscribers, many of them dedicated Sandton Shoppers! e-mail us, or click here.

The Reviews

**** Ri'Stretto Morningside, at the Garden Court: 29 July 2017

A visit from our Middelburg family caused this occasion! So good to see grandsons Max and Jack plus their parents after eighteen months. Ri'Stretto is the ideal family restaurant with extensive play areas and the possibility for children to make their own pizzas. Max and Jack opted for Sticky pork ribs and spaghetti Bolognese though.

The craft beers were savoured by my daughter and declared good as was my Sauvignon Blanc. For the drivers, the bottomless coffee and water were favoured.

This is a Banting friendly restaurant as well, so foods include a cauliflower base Siciliana pizza and a pepper burger. The latter arrived overcooked so was replaced with a perfect rare one as requested. The other choices were an Hawaiian pizza and a Salmone pasta. Altogether a great afternoon which came too quickly to an end.

Beware of thieving pigeons - they love chips and chicken fingers!

Arnold was our waiter and looked after us well

Contact Details for Ri'stretto Al Fresco Cucina.


***** Polpetta, 90 Degrees on Rivonia: 22 July 2017

I'm sure we go here too often because of the great food and service! Their fruit cocktail was pronounced good and their house Chardonnay went down well. This time I choose Mussels - they were plump and tasty. The hake was also declared good.

Patience was our attentive waitress. Great atmosphere and the manager is always on hand to follow up.

Contact Details for Polpetta Pizza & Pasta.


***** The Hussar Grill, Morningside Shopping Centre: 15 July 2017

We were feeling in celebratory mode after some really great orders came through so this was a real treat! These chain of restaurants started in Cape Town in 1964 and has slowly spread its wings around the country! Fannie, our waiter, told us this.

Drinks were Appletizer and Laborie Chenin Banc plus a single espresso much later! Food was a rump steak with spinach, done blu as requested, and a Hussar Burger. What a joy to have perfectly prepared food, real table linen and great service. Definitely a "grown-up" restaurant for special occasions, with prices to match.

Contact Details for The Hussar Grill.


***** Ocean Basket, Morningview Shopping Centre, 10 South Road: 24 June 2017

This is becoming one of our favourite restaurants because of the friendly service and great food! This night our waitress was Charity and she was great. We started with hot chocolate and Boschendaal Blanc de Blanc, which is served by the carafe. Food of choice was the OB fish and the Mediterranean Seafood Soup. Both were excellent. I really love the Seafood Soup as it has all my favourites in it!

The place was warm on a really cold night and the number of customers told us that they have a lot of returnees, not just us! Recommended for being child friendly as well

Contact Details for Ocean Basket.


**** Silver Pine Spur, Upper Level, Morning Glen Shopping Centre, 29 May 2017

After a really good Speakathon at Ernest Ullmann Park with Transformers Toastmasters, I was hungry. We dropped in at the Spur and I ordered a rare rump steak with spinach. The spinach was a mistake as it was full of flour, so it got sent back.  The steak was excellent as was the Van Louvern Chardonnay. The hot chocolate went down well for my partner.. As usual the service was good and the venue was warm!

Contact Details for Silver Pine Spur.


***** Pappadums, Upper Level, Morning Glen Shopping Centre, 6 May 2017

There was another couple there enjoying lunch who came to us as they were leaving to say the only problem they had was the food is so good that they keep coming back!  Very much why we do as well! We indulged in Chicken Hyderabadi, which arrived somewhat undercooked but was quickly rectified, and Lamb Biriyani. The chicken was great as was the Biriyani. The Lassi Mango was declared excellent and my Leopards Leap Chenin Blanc was not only excellent but well priced.

The staff and owners are great and attentive, making it always a pleasure to be there.

Contact Details for Pappadums.


***** Pappadums Gallo Manor, Morning Glen Shopping Centre, 26 November 2016

Fancying a bit of spice, we made a return visit to this very good Indian restaurant. As usual, the service was great and Salom made sure that everything was organised. Their Leopard's Leap Chenin Blanc is very good and well priced. The Murg Tikka came with an unexpected salad and the Chicken 65 came mild as requested.  Good portion sizes for people who do not eat huge amounts.  Worth going to for an easy lunch with pleasant seating on the patio.

Contact Details for Pappadums.


***** Fego Caffé, Gallo Manor, Morning Glen Shopping Centre, 27 August 2016

Here we have found the best quick lunch solution.  Innocentia remembers us!  We are now very clear on what works.  The Mezzano platter, which we share. Calamari for me plus olives and, sometimes the Rocket.  Most everything else for my partner! Appletiser for him and wine for me. Fego is child friendly, however Morning Glen is not, as it allows smoking in the underground carpark next to the play area in breach of the law.

Contact Details for Fego Caffé .


***** The Baron, Woodmead, Dunwoody Centre, 09 August 2016

I forget where we were coming from, but we were hungry and chose this pub to have lunch.  What a good choice - lots of sun outside and excellent service! Chose the Brampton Rose as my wine - soft and beautifully dry.  My partner went for his usual Appeltiser.  I chose the Chicken Tikka - wonderful and my partner indulged in liver and onions.  All together, a great experience.  This place has a real buzz all of the time.

Contact Details for The Baron, Woodmead.


***** Piza e Vino, The Wedge, 24 July 2016

This restaurant is really becoming Banting friendly My marinato Zucchini Linguine was fantastic. My partner's pizza made him happy - he doesn't need to diet - 54kgs for years! The wine and locally produced beers are worth going there for as well.  Everyone is invested in excellent service.

Contact Details for Piza e Vino Restaurant.


***** Pappadums, Morning Glen Mall, Kelvin Drive, Gallo Manor: 27 November 2015

It was a cold and stormy night, so we moved inside! This was our second visit to this venue and we opted to share the Tandoori Chicken.  It was really good!  This is going to become a favourite venue, as the service is excellent, the atmosphere peaceful and the food well-worth eating.

They are also child friendly.

Contact Details for Pappadums.


**** Love Fish, Morningside Shopping Centre, Rivonia Road,  Morningside: 7 November 2015

One of two recently opened restaurants in the centre, replacing Tsunami and Midori, which we had found very customer unfriendly.  Love Fish certainly is the place to go for a really good selection of fish and shellfish.  They have a limited selection of very good wines.  I opted for their mussels, which were lovely and plump, whilst my partner had their beer-battered fish. Well-done chips are not their high point, sadly, even after a second try. The service was very good and made for a pleasant and enjoyable lunch.

We would go there again.

Contact Details for Love Fish.


*** Ri'stretto Al Fresco Cucina at Garden Court Morningside, cnr of Rivonia Road and Cullinan Close,  Morningside: 10 October 2015

This restaurant replaces Pappachino's, as the franchisee decided to take over the restaurant and rebrand it.  There are some excellent options and it is Banting friendly.  Service was excellent and our waiter, Sonny, engaging.  They are also very open to feedback, which we gave.

We had starters - small appetites do starters well!  Even so, the excellent Calamari and Scallop salad defeated me.  Lunch the next day was covered!  Rick's Chorizo sausage was overcooked and rather chewy, accompanied by an over-dressed salad that had too much bitter rocket for his taste.  Appletizer and Boschendal Blanc de Noir well chilled were our accompanying drinks.

This place is very child friendly.  We will go again and definitely recommend it for an evening meal.

Contact Details for Ri'stretto Al Fresco Cucina.


***** Piza e Vino, The Wedge, Morningside: 26 September 2015

This is becoming a favourite venue for light and very different lunches.  Their Carpaccio is particularly good and they still do very reasonably priced medium Regina Pizzas.  They also do a very good Squid head special.  The outside deck gives you a wonderful view across Morningside and Gallo Manor - wish more restaurants could boast such views. Altogether, a lovely place for a quiet lunch with good food and good service.

Contact Details for Piza e Vino Restaurant.


*** Pappadums, Morning Glen Mall, Kelvin Drive corner Bowling Ave, 28 August 2015

This restaurant replaces Rashnee, which closed some time ago.  It has been completely revamped and is now family run.  The menu is extensive with a wide range of choices.  We ordered a Mango Lassi and a glass of Leopards Leap Shiraz whilst going through the menu.  Our choices were for the Murg Malai Tikka and the Chicken Biryani.  The latter was a generous portion.  The Murg Malai came with salad, which turned out to be entirely onions.  This was changed for a plain green salad on request.

The Chicken Biryani, specified as mild, turned out to be uncomfortably hot!  This appears to be "mild" according to Indian tastes.  Both dishes defeated us, so I had Murg Malai and salad available for my trip the following day! 

Service was good and the atmosphere is very friendly.  A large party arrived for dinner as we were finishing ours.  I trust that this is an indication for the future.

Contact Details for Pappadums.


*** The Green Peppercorn, Morningside Shopping Centre, 18 July 2015

The menus have now been pasted into books - sad loss of the opening to the story, but a useful resource if the service is slow!  We dropped in for lunch and made some mistakes.  We should have asked for the beverage menu as the ordered Ceylon tea was indeed Ceylon but an exotic black tea and not the one expected.  The glass of red wine, however, was more than acceptable.

I ordered the Bone Marrow and had to go through exactly what I didn't want with it, so ended up with salsa.  The marrow was very good indeed and gloriously messy.  It should have been served with a finger bowl!

The cheddar omelette was a big disappointment.  Service by Llyod (is his name spelt right on the till slip?) was good.  I did ask about the restaurant being more Banting friendly and was told that their attempt was a complete failure.  The fact that the steak was being served with polenta may be the reason.  I did point out that this is not a Banting choice.

It's a pity.  This restaurant used to be so good.

Contact Details for The Green Peppercorn.


*** Piza E Vino, The Wedge, Morningside: 17 April 2015

Again, a noisy restaurant, so not for that special intimate evening!  However, their fire was warming the interior and the cold patrons who needed warming up.  Their hot chocolate is frothed milk with a jug of pour-in thick chocolate.  I think the jug needs to be bigger as the drink was found to be too milky.  The Middelvlei Merlot was excellent.  Food was the Carpaccio and a medium Regina pizza.  The latter met expectations although it could have been crisper.  The Carpaccio turned out to rare beef, which was unusual.  The real disappointment was that it was described as coming with olive oil.  Well, it didn't.  Balsamic vinegar instead which was not a Banting choice.  They are changing their menu to be more Paleo/Banting friendly next month.

Their coffee is also excellent and the service was reasonable.  Prefer sitting on the balcony and, seeing the heating going on there, may well return to take a table there again and enjoy more quiet!

Contact Details for Piza e Vino.


**** Ocean Basket, Morning View Centre, South Road, Morningside: 3 March 2015

This branch only opened at the beginning of the year and is very family orientated, with ample entertainment for youngsters in the form of play gyms and other equipment.  It has a good sized deck nearby by this play area and a wonderful corridor for riding toy motor bikes up and down!  The staff and manager are very friendly.  The interior area is bright and welcoming.

This was just my second dinner out after starting the Banting lifestyle in January, so it was a good test for learning how I can adapt normal restaurant offerings to this.  Still not drinking wine, I ordered sparkling water with ice and lemon and my partner opted for Appletiser.  My drink choice is a real treat and change from just large amounts of cold water!  We will probably have to look for a Soda Stream again (assuming they still exist).

For food, my partner ordered the Ocean Basket Fish and Chips (OB on the menu) and I opted for the Grilled Calamari Salad.  Predictably the chips had to be returned for crisping.  Not so predictably, the salad also had to be returned as it arrived pre-dressed.

Once the food was rectified, the OB fish and chips proved to be their usual reliable selves.  The Calamari Salad came with olive oil on the side, which was virgin cold pressed and wonderful.  The calamari were great.

We finished our meal with a Kataifi and a filter coffee - both extremely good!  The service was good and we would definitely go again.

Contact Details for Ocean Basket, Morning View.


*** Salé e Pepe da Giovanni, Morning View Centre, South Road, Morningside: 3 October 2014

A new venture on our part, as we have seldom been to this centre.  The restaurant is well laid out with attractive tables and decor.  Austin found us a table and brought the menu.  This is a fairly expensive venue where starters can be around R80. However, there is no objection to sharing!  We ordered Sauvignon Blanc and Appletiser, plus a calamari and Chorico half and half pizza.

The service was excellent and the pizza good.  It was somewhat cold though, as we had not taken coats and the doors were wide open for the early part of our meal.  Ended with an Irish coffee.  We would go again, preferably on a warmer night!

Contact Details for Salé Pepe da Giovanni.


**** Kiyota Sushi, Shop 73, Upper Level in Morning Glen Mall: 5 September 2014

A return to a favourite restaurant for a leisurely evening meal - service here is excellent.  We chose to share a seafood Bento Box, which was a really worthwhile choice with fish, mussels and calamari in great quantities.  This is value for money at R110 and fed two people easily.  Our drinks were white wine and green tea.

Altogether a quiet relaxed meal with time to talk and unobtrusive service - somewhere to go when you want to enjoy being with your favourite person.

Contact Details for Kiyota Sushi.

Room to Let in Morningside Manor, Available Now!

Small Bedroom with en suite half bathroom. Shared lounge, dining room, patio, and garden.  Secure, carpeted, fully furnished and serviced (including washing). Close to shops and bus routes.  To Let for one person only. Call 082 389 3482, e-mail us, or click here.


***** Polpetta Ristorante, 90 Degrees on Rivonia, corner Rivonia Road and Kelvin Drive: 11 May 2014

Following a request from one of our readers to review our local restaurant, we booked for Mother's Day lunch.  We arrived and were welcomed by Maria.  Our table was inside, but the cold wind gusted in until the heaters really got going!  Boldly, we decided to not have our usual shared pizza, but to choose other things from the menu.  First we ordered an Appletiser and the Fishoek Savignon Blanc.  After looking at the menu, we chose to share the Bruschetta, followed by Calamari for me and Chicken Schnitzel for my partner.

The Bruschetta were served with roasted vegetables and very tasty and hot.  My Calamari were totally perfect and the Chicken Schnitzel declared very good.  Service as usual was excellent.  A good place to go for friendly service and where you make good friends with everyone.

Contact Details for Polpetta Pizza & Pasta.


**** Papachinos Continental Café, Cullinan Close off Rivonia Road, Morningside – 25 January 2014

Despite our booking and arriving promptly, our table could not be found, so we were shown upstairs to a lounge-like waiting area and drinks were served.  Being conservative here, it was our standard Appletiser and Sauvignon Blanc.  As no wine menu was offered, I don't know whose it was.  We ordered the Fisherman's Platter to share and continued to relax.  The people at the table in the balcony left and we expected to be offered it.

This did not happen as another couple, who had just arrived, were give the table.  Rather indignant, I went up to the waiter who had given them the table and pointed out that we were already waiting for that table.  With commendable alacrity, the situation was handled and a second table put into the balcony for us to take.  The manager came up and apologised.  Full marks for a situation diplomatically and speedily resolved.

The restaurant is very big and well patronised.  There is plenty of room for children to run their energy off in the well-protected play area.  The access to the open air gives views across Rivonia Road towards the Magaliesberg and to the smell of the rain.

Our Fisherman's Platter arrived.  A goodly portion of Kingklip, four prawns, mussels in garlic sauce and calamari with lovely lemon butter.  More spinach would have been appreciated.  It was a thoroughly enjoyable meal and plenty for two people.  With one of us preferring just fish and the other shellfish, our needs were well catered for in this shared dish.  Our waiter was attentive but not overbearing and we would definitely go again.

This is one of the few places that, when asked for "well done, crispy chips", actually delivers!  Best crispy chips in ages.

Contact Details for Papachinos Continental Café.


**** Pomodoro, Morningside Shopping Centre – 15 November 2013

A hot evening and break in a hectic schedule gave us an opportunity to revisit this restaurant after quite a time away.  We were greeted immediately and a table found despite not having booked!  I sat down and the waiter immediately changed the glasses so that I had the pink one and my partner the blue!  The drinks this time were Appletiser and Boschendal Blanc de Noir.  The latter is a very enjoyable dry pink wine.  I ordered the starter calamari and my partner the Salame e carciofini pizza, medium.

The calamari were perfectly cooked but rather bland, so I perked them up with chilli.  The pizza was the largest medium I've seen in some time.  My partner enjoyed it and took half home.  This meant that I was able to appreciate how good it was when I had a piece later over the weekend.

Great service, good food and reasonable pricing make this a good place to go for an evening.

Contact Details for Pomodoro Ristorante.


***** Raashee Indian Restaurant,  Morning Glen Mall – 2 November 2013

A chance for a relaxed lunch on their deck arose so we took it! Everyone greeted us as we are now old friends and we placed orders for Appletiser and a glass of dry white wine.  Our food order was Daal Makhani for my partner and the chef's speciality, Chicken Kali Miri, for me.  The wine and Appletiser arrived with lots of ice and so did the poppadums with dips.  When our main courses arrived, they were well presented.  The Daal was declared very good.  My chicken was hot and spicy with overtones of pepper as promised.  A worthwhile lunch and with the joy of real linen, it is great not to have paper serviettes!

The food and service here are excellent and it is a good place for families as well.

Contact Details for Raashee Indian Restaurant.


*** Piza e Vino at Morningside Wedge - 6 September 2013

We are not opposed to second tries, so we revisited here to check out another reviewer's experience.  Service is way better and the pizzas have also improved - still (in my humble opinion) way below Polpetta's, who are hard to beat.  It is good to report on improvements!

Contact Details for Piza e Vino.


***** Winnie's Soul and Jazz Restaurant , Wendywood Shopping Centre, Daphne Street

What a wonderful place with jazz playing all the time and a live show at 21:30, which was sadly too late for us!  Anthony made us feel very welcome and presented their very interesting menu.  Drinks were ordered - the hot chocolate standard and a Vrede and Lust dry pink wine, which is truly wonderful and a real change from dry whites.  It is a light and truly delicious wine worth repeating.

We shared chicken livers, which were a little too hot for my companion.  I found them just right for a chilly evening!  My partner ordered lamb shank whilst I went for the mussels starter.  Both dishes were perfectly cooked and presented.  My mussels were plump and the sauce was just right.

We concluded the evening with a coffee and a cappuccino.  Atmosphere is great, prices on the high side, definitely a place for the elite to be seen and to have a great evening.  Service is good - thanks Anthony!  Loved the decor - lots of photos of jazz greats and warm wood.

Contact Details for Winnie's Soul & Jazz Restaurant.


***** Piza e Vino, The Wedge Shopping Centre, Rivonia Road,  reviewed by Nicci Richardson: 3 June 2013

We recently dined at Piza é Vino at The Wedge and the food was fabulous, service outstanding and comes highly recommended! 5 stars. We have headed there several times and had lots of their dishes including their spicy tomato vegetable soup, mussels in white wine, bruscetta with salmon and cream cheese toppings…but our favourite has to the Gorgonzola pizza topped with fresh herbs and since we are serious blue cheese fanatics this goes very well with the Gorgonzola and Pear salad. Mouthwateringly wonderful!!

Recommend you book especially on the weekends as it seems that restaurant is giving new life to The Wedge Shopping Centre…

Contact Details for Piza e Vino.

* Piza e Vino, The Wedge Shopping Centre, Rivonia Road: 18 December 2012

What a disappointment!  1950's style chairs and tables should have set warning bells ringing.  Appalling music, which could not be changed because it comes from the group database, whose compiler appears to be tone deaf.  The Butterfly Chardonnay makes me question why Robertson sell it.  It is over priced and insipid.

We shared a half and half pizza or, to be more exact, a third and two thirds pizza.  I chose Gamberi, my partner Americano.  The base was very soggy and over cheesed.  I had to hunt for the prawns.  Two each on two slices and one on the other.  The large decorative prawn was overcooked.  The rocket was plentiful but there was no sign of the garlic.  The Americano jalapenos were hot, despite my partner being assured they wouldn't be, and the rest of his two thirds uninteresting.

Altogether a meal designed to completely disappoint.  Sam the waiter said he would bring our complaint to management's attention, presumably at some time in the future, as no-one dealt with it before we left.

Contact Details for Piza e Vino.


* Le Bistro et L'Annexe aux Petit Cochon, Codfather Village of Restaurants, First Avenue Rivonia, 12 October 2012

What a disappointment!  The smoking section is not closed off from the non-smoking section in violation of SA laws and French courtesy.  In a good French restaurant, smoking is NOT allowed as it is understood to spoil the appreciation of the food.

We ordered hot chocolate and Tokara Sauvignon Blanche for drinks plus chicken livers as a starter which we share.  However, big mistake I also ordered the Calamari in lemon butter sauce (another starter) as my main course.  Net result, both starters arrived together and the latter was sent back.  The main Osso Bucco arrived next with the revamped calamari.  The Osso Bucco was mediocre and the calamari was incredibly salty.  The latter was sent back and a new one produced, eventually.  This did not meet any standard.

If you are a smoker, this is for you.  If you want good food, avoid this venue.

Contact Details for Le Bistro at Petit Cochon.


***** Raashee Indian Restaurant, Upper Level, Morning Glen Mall, corner Kelvin and Bowling, 18 August 2012

This restaurant is newly opened and currently unlicensed.  However, Woolworths next door offers a good range of wines to accompany their food and no corkage charge is levied.  This was our second visit, as I really needed a Vindaloo to combat my flu!

On their advice, I had it medium hot and chose the chicken version.  My partner ordered a mild Daal Tadka and a mango lassi.  My wine from Woolworths was their house Chardonnay, which stood well with the Vindaloo.  This was the hottest curry I have had in many years.  It was very enjoyable with the spices well-balanced.  What is more, it hit all the right places and I had enough for the next day's lunch as well!

The Daal was pronounced good as was the Lassi.

The range of dishes offered includes many new ones not previously encountered.  Their Tandoori Chicken is very good and we are encouraging them to serve it with a real salad, as this makes it really good.

The owner and his staff are really friendly and take pride in their food.  I can thoroughly recommend going there for a meal even as a party, as the service is excellent.

Contact Details for Raashee Indian Restaurant.


***** Kiyota Sushi, Upper Level, Morning Glen Mall, corner Kelvin and Bowling, 14 July 2012

A return trip, to see how they are doing, proved to be a wise choice.  This time the spring rolls (one chicken and one prawn) arrived first.  The prawn shaped one, encasing a whole prawn, was delicious and the chicken one was full of chicken.  My partner pronounced it good.

We followed up with my beloved calamari teppenyaki and beef fried noodle.  Both are excellent value for money.  Coconut milk and wine by the glass were good drinks to have.  Relaxed and replete, we shared a pot of green tea.

Good friendly service and good value are definitely this restaurant's signature!

Contact Details for Kiyota Sushi.


**** Kong Tai Chinese Restaurant, Morningside Wedge, 1st June 2012

Been there for a long time and we have bought other things from them but not gone to the restaurant.  So in search on something new, we went there.  Service was good, delivery was unusual.  The starter was cancelled when we received the main course first.  However the calamari and vegetable stirfry was great and the chicken and coconut was also good.  The tea and the wine were excellent.

We would go again and they are expanding into bigger premises to include Minamoto, the Japanese restaurant, as well.

Contact Details for Kong Tai Chinese Restaurant.


***** Kiyota Sushi, Upper Level, Morning Glen Mall, corner Kelvin and Bowling, 22 April 2012

Just open for maybe two weeks, this restaurant faces the Spur on the upper level of the centre.  There are three types of seating - at the Sushi bar, at tables in the central area and in alcoves.  The decor is understated and the theme red and black.  They have one of the heaviest menus (to hold) that I have come across recently!

However this menu is very well laid out and gives excellent descriptions of the food on offer, plus the pricing structure.  They are licensed.

Soft Japanese music plays to create a gentle and conducive atmosphere in which to enjoy a meal and the waiters are courteous.  Whilst studying the menu, I sipped on a glass of Seasons Sauvignon Blanc.  I finally chose the pork dumplings and the calamari Teppanyaki.  The Teppanyaki arrived first and was simply glorious!  Beautifully cooked vegetables, succulent calamari made a meal of pure joy.  The dumplings came somewhat later and they were worth the delay!  Crispy dumplings containing the softest pork accompanied by a really good hot chilli sauce.

Well with food that good, appetite checked in!  I closed this blissful experience with Thai Prawn rolls.  These were two prawns each wrapped it their own pastry casing and they made the perfect ending.

As you might guess, this was a great experience and currently they are giving discounts as an opening special, so the value is exceptional.  If anyone would like to share the sushi special at R130 - I would love to join you!

Contact Details for Kiyota Sushi.


***** Chez Girard, 20 WEST, 20 West Road South, Morningside, 16 September 2011

A return to an old friend in a new venue proved to be an excellent choice for a cold night out!  Christian's warm welcome was accompanied by sherries on the house.  The restaurant's decor is understated and inviting.  The menu and wine list are of high quality.  I was spoilt with half a dozen oysters for starters, which were complemented by the Excelsior Sauvignon Blanc.  Rick chose his favourite roast duckling, which was perfectly served.  I chose the beef fillet with peppercorn sauce - gloriously rare.  The vegetables were cooked to crisp perfection as well.

Finally delicious coffee!  A very enjoyable evening in good company at one of our finest French restaurants left us relaxed and happy.

Contact Details for Chez Girard.


**** Steak Bar, inside Food Lovers' Market, The Wedge, Morningside, Rivonia Road, Morningside (9 July 2011)

A solo venture following a long meeting on a Saturday morning and the need to do the week's shopping!  We have been going to Food Lovers' Market since it opened in the Wedge as their prices are very good and there is great attention to good service.  The Steak Bar did not let me down, especially when I discovered that they do Schwarmas!  They also do rump steak with chips and salad; beer battered fish and chips.  However, deprived of Schwarma for many months, I ordered one.  Not only was it delicious and packed generously with salad, meat and tahina, I felt I could have shared it easily!  The service was very friendly and fast.

I was particularly taken with the attention to detail, including keeping the small space allotted to the bar pristine.  It's a good place to stop and take a break whilst shopping in a place that offers a wide range of fresh meat and fish; a copious choice of cheeses and also one of the best ranges of pates I know of in the area.

Contact Details for Food Lovers' Market.


**** Pomodoro, Morningside Shops, Rivonia Road Morningside

A return visit for the company Christmas lunch took us there on Christmas Eve.  We sat outside and were attended to promptly.  We then ordered drinks - Apple and Grapetisers plus a glass of Porcupine Ridge Chardonnay.  Starters  were Crostini with Mozzarella and Anchovy or Chicken Livers.  I shared my Mozzarella and Anchovy ones with Rick.  They were very tasty and came with olive oil and fresh basil.  Main courses were Saltimbocca Romana, Prawn Rissotto and Gnocchi Gorgonzola.  All beautifully presented and extremely good.  We finished up with coffees, being too replete for desserts!

Great and friendly service, unobtrusive attention to detail and our wellbeing were the main features of a truly pleasant lunch!.

Contact Details for Pomodoro Restaurant. Read previous Pomodoro Restaurant Review here


**** Sale e Pepe da Giovanni, Morning View Shops, South Road Morningside (reviewed by Shannon P)

I have not ordered food from this restaurant in years as I remember that it was not that great. But we happened to be in the area on Sunday (17 June 2010) and decided to go in for lunch. I ordered the Linguini Scampi which was outstanding. My husband ordered the seafood risotto which he also thought was fabulous (and he is Italian, so not so easy to please). All in all we were very impressed. And we were told that the original Giovanni chef is running the kitchen now (it certainly tasted like the original Giovanni food).

As for your review on Giovanni's at the Dunwoody Centre. I completely agree with you. We ate there not so long ago and we had the worst pizza I have ever had – the sauce they used was very sweet.

Contact Details for Sale e Pepe da Giovanni.


***Adega, Bryanston Shopping Centre, corner William Nicol and Ballyclare Drive, 9 October 2010

A very busy and successful restaurant that has moved into a franchise.  We arrived without booking on a whim and were seated within minutes.  However, we would advise you to book.  We looked at the menu and decided on three starters rather than main courses – calamari, black mushroom and chourico.  I ordered white wine –a very pleasant Sauvignon Blanc– and my companion ordered Appletiser.  The Black Mushroom was rather over cheesed with both Feta and Mozzarella, and the Chourico was rather strong on its own.  The calamari, served with spinach rather than rice, was excellent.  Service was somewhat confused so perhaps Fridays are not the best time to go.  A little noisy, however the ambience was good.

The restaurant is well attended, service is acceptable.  My feeling is that the franchise needs to look at how it is maintaining its standards.

Contact Details for Adega.


*****The Baron, Dunwoody Centre, Western Service Road Woodmead, 17 September 2010

After the unfortunate experience at Giovanni's, we felt that trying the Baron out might be a good idea!  So off we set on a much warmer night.  The Baron has a large non-smoking dining area, which they expanded some time ago, and we were offered a table towards the back.  A request to turn down the music was complied with, which meant that we could hear each other talk.

We ordered an Appletiser and a bottle of Chardonnay before perusing the menu.  (See I still feel mellow!)  Then we ordered just our usual one course.  Inevitably, I ordered calamari grilled with a lemon sauce, rice and a side order of spinach.  My companion ordered his favourite, liver and onions.

What really delights about the Baron is the crisp linen and heavy cutlery.  It feels like a special evening out, with flower arrangements around the room, mirrors and brass fittings.  Old fashioned brought up to date with good service and greater lightness of touch.

In good time, our food arrived.  It was well presented and the spinach was excellent.  So were the calamari and the liver and onions.  We dined in contentment, thoroughly enjoying the evening, the well-timed attention of our waiter and our surroundings.  We ended our stay with a cup of coffee, also good.

All in all a good place to go, they were busy and the waiters cope easily with the patrons.

Contact Details for The Baron.


*****Cucina Italiana, Elizabeth Ave, Benmore, 31 July 2010

This was a party of four, headed by Winston, and completed by Rick, Lynne and myself.  This is a boutique restaurant with an expansive host in Paulo, who breaks into song from time to time!  He imports very good Italian red wine and makes extremely good food.  Our choices were the liver and onions, Putannesca pasta, Prawn pasta and the AOP (Garlic, Oil and hot peppers) pasta.  It was a leisurely meal enjoyed in good company, which was enhanced by the excellent food and wine.  We finished off with coffee and felt content.  A good way to end the week, Cucina Italiana is to be recommended.


****Vasili's The Wedge, Morningside, 26 June 2010

The desire for clams having been stirred, I went here for a light lunch and was rewarded with their excellent clam starter.  This is done in a light tomato sauce (no sugar) with parsley, garlic and a touch of chilli (could have been more for me).  The clams were in shells and it is wonderful to really get into your food, picking up the shells and removing the contents!  A glass of Sauvignon Blanc and some sparkling water proved excellent accompaniments.  Thapelo was a friendly and attentive waiter.  All in all a great experience and the music is good as well!

Vasili's Restaurant, moved to Rivonia and then closed.


*Giovanni's at the Dunwoody Centre, Western Service Road, Woodmead, 25 June 2010

This restaurant has been there for some years and is no longer part of the franchise.  It is a warm and friendly restaurant on entering and the staff are attentive.  I was disappointed that the advertised clam pasta dish was not available.  In fact it is very seldom available, as the restauranteur will only use unshelled clams.  I then ordered the Linguine Squid Heads instead and my partner a Quattro Stagione pizza.  The Leopards Leap Sauvignon Blanc came promptly and was good.

The food arrived in due course with the linguine served is a large copper pan, looking very festive.  This reminded me that the Giovanni portion size is actually large enough for two people!  On tasting the tomato sauce, however, I was overwhelmed by how incredibly sweet it was.  I called our waiter and enquired if there was sugar in the sauce and discovered that there was.  The cloying taste stayed with me for the rest of the night even though I had only taken one mouthful!

Even eating a slice of the excellent Quattro Stagione with its olives did not remove it.  I do not appreciate being served a main course which tastes like half a bag of sugar has been dumped in it.  No mention is made on the menu that sugar is used in the tomato dishes, putting diabetics at risk.  I am at a loss as to why sugar is becoming a must-have in many main course dishes, as it is alien and also bad for people's health.  Like over salting dishes makes them unacceptable to people who actually like to taste their food, using sugar again destroys the balance of the other flavours completely.

The owner was thoroughly unsympathetic: The recipe calls for sugar, he's been putting it in for 20 years, he doesn't care if it is bad for his guests, no-one else complains (they might of course not come back).  Not recommended.

Contact Details for Giovanni's.


Tsunami Seafood Emporium in the Morningside Shopping Centre (8 June 2010) by Debbie Airey

Well well, after going onto various restaurant guides this morning it seems I am not alone in being utterly disgusted with the service and food at this restaurant. I do hope that someone is looking into it. This is the 3rd time that I have tried to give the place a chance. Never again. Food is overpriced, tasteless and the service is not even worth mentioning. The only reason we ended up there is the rest were fully booked, funny that. It was 8pm and the restaurant was not busy.. Judging by the patronage I guess something must be wrong. Good luck with that. We have been going to Rosebank for years. Just not the same.

To top it all, a client had sushi for dinner and then set his chopstix alight and burnt them in the candle holder stinking the the whole place out – there was just no one around to do anything about it!

I will never come back and you know the old adage of bad service. One person tells another, another tells 10 others. Its a fact. I just feel as South Africans we seldom complain about poor service and for that reason owners are not aware of what they are doing wrong. It is the restaurant that will suffer in the long run.

(Editor's Note: This was e-mailed to the restaurant for comment on 9 June 2010.  No reply was ever received.  Earlier (two-star) review here)


*** Green Peppercorn, in the Morningside Shopping Centre (22 May 2010)

This is an unusual restaurant as it has a loyalty programme and will give you one free breakfast a month if you join!  The night was cold and, after a long day of meetings, I was cold and tired!  Morningside Shops are not exactly organised for Winter and we were grateful for the gas heater at our table.  Even so, the wind blew cold around our feet.  However, the great attention from the waiters and the owner proved good draught excluders!

The menu here is very different – firstly it is presented as a newspaper and secondly the dishes are unusual.  I ordered the Tom Yum Chicken Stir Fry and my partner the Lamb Burger.  (We won't mention the chips).  The Lamb Burger arrived - a healthy, beautifully presented piece of lamb topped with a balsamic onion marmalade.  The chips went back for crisping.  The Tom Yum Chicken was unfortunately extremely salty from the soy sauce and was returned and replaced with the Porchini Risotto.  This dish was lacking in something and the wilted Rocket did nothing to uplift it nor did black pepper.  I would suggest nutmeg or cinnamon and basil to finish it.

The house wine from Franschoek was good and the coffee excellent.  Portions were such that afters were not required.  A special touch was the bread served with hummus!  Friendly service and a warm atmosphere did a lot to mitigate for the Porchini and Chicken dishes.

Another Opinion on Green Peppercorn (Sunday Night, 9 May 2010), by Sagi Bazar

Food was excellent. Of 4 mains and 2 desserts, no one could find fault with any item. The service was friendly, but it sometimes was difficult to get the waiter's attention. This was not to standard for an establishment of this calibre. (I am a man of few words)

Contact Details for Green Peppercorn.


**** Vasili's at Morningside, in The Wedge, Morningside (7 May 2010)

This was a complete pleasure except for the perennial chip problem!  Friendly and attentive service, a wonderful ambience and great food (chips excepted).  My Prawn Pasta was everything I wanted - tasty with really plump prawns and a light creamy sauce.  My colleague's calamari looked and was pronounced to taste good.  A great bottle of wine (Graham Beck Waterside White) and excellent coffee.

Also very pleasant live music - a place to go to for great atmosphere and great food!

Vasili's Restaurant, moved to Rivonia and then closed.


***** Silver Pine Spur, Upper Level, Morning Glen Shops, Bowling Avenue off Kelvin Drive (5 March 2010)

Newly opened at the beginning of the month, this is a lively and spacious restaurant.  We were greeted at the door by the manager and his enthusiastic staff and shown to our table.  The layout of the tables is creative, with the central divider between two tables for four being removable to cater for a party of eight.

Our waiter was Samuel, who was attentive without being overbearing.  Drinks arrived within moments of being ordered.  The standard Spur menu offers a wide choice of dishes and we opted for a Spur burger with mushroom sauce and a half portion of fish and chips.   They both came with our preferred crispy chips!

I can recommend the house dry white wine.

Most interesting feature was seeing and hearing the manager debriefing his staff at the end of the evening.  We had arrived late and were the last table to leave.  The good atmosphere in the restaurant comes from this attention to the well-being of the staff.  It was a very enjoyable evening..

Contact Details for Silver Pine Spur.

   

If you use the contact details on this page to get hold of anyone, please tell them that you found them at www.megaplex.co.za !

For information on local accommodation, other local amenities, and this site's contact details, click Here (Megaplex Home Page)

  For older reviews see Restaurant reviews for Rivonia and Morningside. You might also like to look at Review of Restaurants in Morningside and Restaurant Reviews for the rest of Sandton.  Shopping centres with restaurants in the area: 90° on Rivonia, The Wedge, Morningside, Morning Glen.

Megaplex Contact Details and Map ~ e-mail us

Search this site or the entire internet: 
 

Back to top – ©2008-2017 Megaplex cc. Privacy Policy.  All rights reserved. Contents may be used for reference purposes, as long as credit is duly given. – Page Created: 23 May 2010 – Last Updated: 16 October 2017. Contact Webmaster.